Image by Kat J

an interactive poetry book


based on Robert Plutchik's


Psychoevolutionary Theory of Basic Emotions,


The Kubler-Ross Five Stages of Grief Model, and William Worden's Four Tasks of Mourning

A what?


This interactive poetry book is a picture-popup book, with the poems coming to life. Using an AI camera app on their phone, consumers will be able to augment the UI/UX experience of the popup book embedded in the book’s messages.


The book combines colour theory, Robert Plutchik’s Psychoevolutionary Theory of Emotion, the Kubler-Ross 5 Stages of Grief, and William Worden’s 4 Tasks of Mourning. 


As a therapy and grievance tool, the relatable text and imagery communicate a range of emotions, stages of grief, and trauma that humans feel naturally. The book acts as a therapeutic experience that allows them to heal and find hopeful silver linings through their T.E.A.R.s. (To accept the reality of loss, Experiencing pain, Adjust to a new environment, Readjust to a new reality) 


This poetry book is used in places like wellness centers for those in mental health care and as a support tool for their mentors, peers, and family members. It appeals to audiences such as young adults dealing with difficult emotional periods and older, established adults who are broken and lost.


If you - or someone you know -  are having trouble dealing with emotional strife, my interactive poetry book could be a new, kinesthetic solution to help you over the hill.

Robert, whom?

Plutchik, R. (1980). Emotion: A Psychoevolutionary. Synthesis.

Plutchik proposed an eight-emotion psychoevolutionary classification approach for general emotional responses. He argues the eight emotions are single hypothetical base feelings with relative combinations, intensities, prototype patterns, dyads, survival issues and conflicts.

Image by Fabian Gieske

Geneva's Emotions

Similar, but different.

"Emotions are an integral part of interactions with other people (e.g., colleagues) and objects (e.g. consumer goods). The assessment of emotional reactions is therefore important when striving to understand how to improve such interactions, e.g., when designing positive consumer experiences, a central component of emotions, the “feeling component,” is inherently subjective and can only be assessed with self-report measures, such as the Geneva Emotion Wheel (GEW; Scherer, 2005). The aim of the current study was to empirically justify the theoretically derived placement of 40 emotion labels in the GEW prototype version 2.0. In a forthcoming chapter (see Scherer, Shuman, Fontaine, & Soriano, 2013), the further development of the GEW based on ratings across emotion components (and even in different language groups) is described."


The Kubler-Ross

5 Stages of Grief Model












William Worden's

Four Tasks of Mourning



to accept reality of the loss


experience the pain


adjust to the new environment


reinvest in new reality

Image by Tom Pumford

The Four Conflicts

According to Plutchik, primary emotions opposite the theorized wheel, create conflict combinations of emotions.


Anticipation vs Surprise


Joy vs Sadness


Anger vs Fear


Disgust vs Trust

Image by Artem Beliaikin

Learning Outcomes


This poetry book is intended to help readers identify the emotional processing responses of trauma and grief in both themselves and others. It identifies the basic emotions, survival issues, intensity, and conflicts of Robert Plutchik's Theory. It explains the psycho-evolutionary concepts of human and animal emotional capabilities through poetry, colour theory, and user interaction.


Healing Tools

 Readers will experience visual rhetoric, digital interaction, and poetic humour to address positive and negative coping mechanisms. It will cover the effects of trauma and grief on the body, its connection to emotions, and feedback cycle loops.


Be the first the know the deets